Go to home page

The history of the formation of the political and economic elite in the Sverdlovsk region

Protests against the construction of a temple in the Yekaterinburg public garden in 2019

In 2019, the authorities of the Sverdlovsk Region made a third attempt to erect the Church of St. Catherine in Yekaterinburg. Initially, the public initiator of the construction of the temple was the governor Alexander Misharin, possibly under the influence of his wife, who stated that Yekaterinburg vitally needed the temple of his heavenly patroness in order to transport the relics of St. Catherine from Egypt to it - supposedly thanks to this, the city would receive a powerful impetus for development.

The first attempt failed in 2010, when the regional authorities, under the governor of Alexander Misharin, proposed to build a temple instead of a fountain. Deputy of the Yekaterinburg Duma, Leonid Volkov, led several thousand protesters to defend the fountain, including among his feats the victory over the governor of the Sverdlovsk region. True, at that time an important role in this victory was played by the Yekaterinburg mayor's office, which fought with Misharin for more mundane reasons, and provided information support to the organization of the rally in order to weaken Misharin's position. For the second time, Governor Yevgeny Kuyvashev tried to push through the project to build a temple in the middle of a pond on an embankment island right above the metro line. This time, the main initiators were the copper oligarchs Igor Altushkin (the main shareholder of the Russian Copper Company CJSC) and Andrey Kozitsyn (the general director of the Ural Mining and Metallurgical Company OJSC). It was rumored that the main role was again played by a woman - the wife of Igor Altushkin. Yekaterinburg residents went out to hug the pond to protect themselves from the holy army, and after the authorities refused this project, they also wrote it down on the tablets of their achievements. In fact, the project was abandoned, probably under the pressure of convincing evidence that the temple, along with the bulk island, would bring down the subway tunnel. In 2018-2019, a third attempt was made - it was supposed to build a temple in a park in the central part of the city. The apotheosis of the new battle for the saint's favor was the Easter religious procession, in the forefront of which were the presidential envoy to the Urals Federal District Nikolai Tsukanov, Governor Yevgeny Kuyvashev, Mayor of Yekaterinburg Alexander Vysokinsky and copper oligarchs Igor Altushkin and Andrey Kozitsyn. Yekaterinburg protesters opposed this rallying of power and money in religious ecstasy only with hugs with trees at the site of the alleged construction of the temple and absurd slogans at the May Day Monstration, in which, God forbid, if they suspect a political protest.

On the night of May 12-13, 2019, workers hired by the St. Catherine Foundation, sponsored by the copper oligarch Igor Altushkin, erected a mesh fence in the park where it was planned to begin construction of the cathedral. The community "Parks and Squares of Yekaterinburg" and Navalny's headquarters in Yekaterinburg invited the townspeople after the end of the working day for another walk in defense of the park. And the townspeople came. Numbering over a thousand people. Some violent heads began to break the flimsy fence. Fighters from the Martial Arts Academy of the Russian Copper Company Altushkin, headed by the president of the Academy, the famous fighter Ivan Shtyrkov, who, as they say, at one time was employed by Igor Altushkin's personal bodyguard, came to the aid of the small guard of the PSC fence of the copper company. The relatively small number of police officers retreated, probably at the direction of high-ranking officials. We can only assume that the police chiefs decided that their employees in this mess can become participants in some scandalous situation, for which the chiefs will have to pay. As a result, the protesting townspeople and the copper guardsmen had to find out who is in power here. I must say that both sides behaved surprisingly restrained for this kind of situation. There were several unpleasant incidents, but the conflict did not escalate into a mass brawl. Then the police returned, and among them there were even officers who did not want to reckon with the political situation and tried to detain one soldier from the holy army, who expelled demons from the protesters against the temple with a gas canister. "Combat academics", out of habit, without hesitation too long, squeezed a comrade-in-arms from the police officers and this, perhaps, became one of the fatal incidents of the first day of the confrontation.

With violence against police officers, the temple fighters dealt a brutal blow to the touching unanimity of business and government demonstrated during the procession. The physiognomy of the defenders of the temple did not arouse religious reverence anyway, and after such a trick they began to be perceived by the brothers from the 90s who came to the showdown. It is interesting that people who know Igor Altushkin himself from personal meetings characterize him as an extremely polite person. I wonder how a very young, polite man in the early 1990s managed to build a metallurgical empire in one of the most criminalized areas of business - the collection of scrap metal? Probably, in the past, in Altushkin's entourage, it was not without brothers who were used to first hitting and then thinking - a very useful skill in some situations, but clearly not in a situation with a temple, where it was not a security official with connections in the criminal environment that had to make decisions, but PR specialist or, at worst, a lawyer.

The weather, despite the changeable Ural climate, favored the protesters. The walk behind the square dragged on long after midnight. And the next day after work, the townspeople gathered at the same time, only this time the conflicting parties were divided by the police cordon. There is more order, although protesters continued to try to break down the fence. Among the protesters there were radical comrades whose fists were clearly itching. There were even small groups of two or three people who were conducting suspicious telephone conversations, very much like receiving instructions from unknown coordinators. But we cannot vouch for this. On the whole, the protest was like a rock festival. Young people were most active, but middle-aged people of both sexes were also represented in the crowd. There was a feeling that people came to hang out. And the fact that the tusovka was united by the idea of opposition to the authorities added to it spice, charm, and meaningfulness.

On the third day, the townspeople began to gather in the park without any calls from the organizers, who by that time had already begun to sly pressure from law enforcement agencies. Every day the number of participants in this festival of civil expression of will increased, amounting to several thousand people. And the builders of the cathedral, in turn, began to install a capital fence, resistant to any devilish intrigues. But it was already too late: the all-seeing eye of the Kremlin turned to Yekaterinburg and with a voice of Vladimir Putin that did not tolerate objections voiced its will - the conflict issue should be resolved in accordance with a poll of the townspeople. Judging by the expressions of Pu-tin, it can be assumed that Putin's advisers were convinced that the majority of the townspeople are for the construction of the cathedral, and an active minority is protesting against the construction. This opinion was probably based on last year's opinion poll data. But since that time, the organizers of the construction of the cathedral have tried their best and turned the majority of the townspeople against the construction, which was convincingly shown by the new polls of the Socium Foundation and VTsIOM. In such a situation, no one dared to cheat brazenly in such a situation, and gradually the main initiators of the construction of the temple agreed on the need to move its construction to another place.

Trying to coordinate positions with the protesters, the mayor's office of Yekaterinburg offered to hold negotiations with representatives of the protesters. But with the choice of these representatives, a tension arose - the protesters could not organize the election of these representatives. As a result, professional shouts, like the lawyer Ivan Volkov, climbed onto the stage, trying to earn political points for themselves on a resonant topic. However, the passivity of the real leaders of the protest could be explained by the activation of law enforcement agencies, which took in the development of those public figures who, in the first days of the protest, participated in negotiations with Yevgeny Kuyvashev. The organizers of the protest actions preferred to pretend that the protest actions were spontaneous and that no one allegedly organized them.

Date of information update: 2019.

Перейти на главную страницу

Акции протеста против строительства собора святой Екатерины в Екатеринбурге в мае 2019 года.

 

 

В 2019 году власти Свердловской области предприняли третью попытку воздвигнуть храм святой Екатерины в Екатеринбурге. Изначально публичным инициатором строительства храма выступал губернатор Александр Мишарин, возможно, под влиянием жены, которая заявляла, что Екатеринбургу жизненно необходим храм его небесной покровительницы, чтобы перевезти в него мощи святой Екатерины из Египта – якобы благодаря этому город получит мощный импульс для развития.

Первая попытка провалилась в 2010 году, когда областные власти при губернаторе Александре Мишарине, предлагали построить храм вместо фонтана. Депутат Екатеринбургской думы Леонид Волков вывел в защиту фонтана несколько тысяч протестующих, записав в число своих подвигов победу над губернатором Свердловской области. Правда, в тот раз немаловажную роль в этой победе сыграла екатеринбургская мэрия, которая воевала с Мишариным по более приземленным мотивам, и оказала информационную поддержку организации митинга, чтобы ослабить позиции Мишарина. Во второй раз уже губернатор Евгений Куйвашев пытался продавить проект строительства храма посреди пруда на насыпном острове прямо над веткой метро. На этот раз основными инициаторами выступили медные олигархи Игорь Алтушкин (основной акционер ЗАО «Русская медная компания») и Андрей Козицын (генеральный директор ОАО «Уральская горно-металлургическая компания»). Поговаривали, что главную роль опять же сыграла женщина – жена Игоря Алтушкина. Екатеринбуржцы выходили обнимать пруд для защиты от святого воинства и после отказа властей от этого проекта, также записали это на скрижалях своих достижений. На самом деле, от проекта отказались, вероятно, под давлением убедительных доказательств, что храм вместе с насыпным островом обрушит тоннель метро. В 2018-2019 годах была предпринята третья попытка – предполагалось построить храм в сквере в центральной части города. Апофеозом новой битвы за благосклонность святой стал пасхальный крестный ход, в авангарде которого выступали полпред президента в УрФО Николай Цуканов, губернатор Евгений Куйвашев, мэр Екатеринбурга Александр Высокинский и медные олигархи Игорь Алтушкин и Андрей Козицын. Этому сплочению власти и денег в религиозном экстазе протестующие екатеринбуржцы противопоставляли только обнимашки с деревьями на месте предполагаемого строительства храма да абсурдные лозунги на первомайской Монстрации, в которых, не дай бог, если заподозрят политический протест.

В ночь с 12 на 13 мая 2019 года рабочие, нанятые Фондом святой Екатерины, спонсируемом медным олигархом Игорем Алтушкиным, установили сетчатый забор в сквере, где планировалось начать строительство собора. Сообщество «Парки и скверы Екатеринбурга» и штаб Навального в Екатеринбурге пригласили горожан после окончания рабочего дня на очередную прогулку в защиту сквера. И горожане пришли. Числом более тысячи человек. Некоторые буйные головы начали ломать хлипкий забор. На помощь немногочисленной охране забора ЧОПа медной компании прибыли бойцы из Академии единоборств Русской медной компании Алтушкина во главе с президентом Академии известным бойцом Иваном Штырковым, который, как говорят, одно время был трудоустроен личным телохранителем Игоря Алтушкина. Сравнительно немногочисленные сотрудники полиции ретировались, вероятно, по указанию высокого начальства. Можем лишь предположить, что полицейские начальники решили, что их сотрудники в этом бардаке могут стать участниками какой-нибудь скандальной ситуации, расплачиваться за что придется начальникам. В результате, протестующим горожанам и медным опричникам пришлось самим выяснять, кто здесь власть. Надо сказать, что обе стороны вели себя на удивление сдержанно для подобного рода ситуаций. Было несколько неприятных инцидентов, но в массовую драку конфликт не перерос. Потом вернулись полицейские и среди них даже обнаружились сотрудники, не пожелавшие считаться с политической конъюнктурой и попытавшиеся задержать одного бойца из святого воинства, который изгонял бесов из протестующих против храма газовым баллончиком. «Боевые академики», по привычке не слишком долго думая, отжали соратника у сотрудников полиции и это, пожалуй, стало одним из фатальных происшествий первого дня противостояния.

Проявив насилие против сотрудников полиции, борцы за храм нанесли жестокий удар по трогательному единодушию бизнеса и государства, демонстрировавшемуся на крестном ходу. Физиономии защитников храма и так не возбуждали религиозного благоговения, а после такого фортеля их начали воспринимать братками из 90-х, пришедших на разборки. Интересно, что люди, знающие самого Игоря Алтушкина по личным встречам, характеризуют его как исключительно вежливого человека. Интересно, как очень молодому в начале 1990-х годов вежливому человеку удалось построить металлургическую империю в одной из самых криминализованных сфер бизнеса – сборе металлолома? Вероятно, и раньше не обошлось в окружении Алтушкина без братков, которые привыкли сначала бить, а потом думать – очень полезный навык в некоторых ситуациях, но явно не в ситуации с храмом, где принимать решения должен был не силовик со связями в криминальной среде, а пиарщик или на худой конец юрист.

Погода, несмотря на переменчивый уральский климат, благоприятствовала протестующим. Прогулка за сквер затянулась далеко за полночь. И на следующий день после работы горожане собрались в то же время, только на этот раз конфликтующие стороны разделил полицейский кордон. Порядка стало больше, хотя попытки сломать забор протестующими продолжились. Среди протестующих имелись радикально настроенные товарищи, у которых явно чесались кулаки. Попадались даже небольшие группки из двух-трех человек, которые вели подозрительные переговоры по телефонам, очень похожие на получение инструкций от неведомых координаторов. Но ручаться за это мы не можем. В общем же и целом протест напоминал рок-фестиваль. Активнее всего себя вели молодые люди, но во множестве были представлены и люди среднего возраста обоего пола. Возникало ощущение, что люди пришли потусить. А то, что тусовка была объединена идеей противостояния власти, добавляло ей остроты, очарования, осмысленности.

На третий день горожане стали собираться в сквере уже без призывов организаторов, которых к тому времени уже начали потихоньку прессовать правоохранительные органы. С каждым днем численность участников этого фестиваля гражданского волеизъявления возрастала, составляя несколько тысяч человек. А строители собора в свою очередь приступили к установке капитального забора, устойчивого к любым дьявольским козням. Но было уже поздно: всевидящее око Кремля обратилось на Екатеринбург и не терпящим возражений гласом Владимира Путина озвучило свою волю – конфликтный вопрос должен быть решен в соответствии с опросом горожан. Судя по выражениям Путина, можно предположить, что советников Путина убедили в том, что большинство горожан за строительство собора, а протестует против строительства активное меньшинство. Это мнение, вероятно, основывалось на прошлогодних данных социологического опроса. Но с того времени организаторы строительства собора постарались на славу и настроили большинство горожан против строительства, что убедительно показали новые данные опросов фонда «Социум» и ВЦИОМа. Нагло мухлевать в в такой ситуации никто не решился, и постепенно основные инициаторы строительства храма согласились с необходимостью перенести его строительство в другое место.

Пытаясь согласовать позиции с протестующими, мэрия Екатеринбурга предложила провести переговоры с представителями участников акции протеста. Но вот с выбором этих представителей возникла напряженка – организовать выборы этих представителей протестующие не смогли. В результате, на сцену повылазили профессиональные крикуны, вроде юриста Ивана Волкова, попытавшиеся заработать себе политические очки на резонансной теме. Впрочем, пассивность реальных лидеров протеста могла объясняться активизацией правоохранительных органов, которые взяли в разработку тех общественных деятелей, которые в первые дни протеста участвовали в переговорах с губернатором Евгением Куйвашевым. Организаторы акций протеста предпочли сделать вид, что акции протеста имели стихийный характер и никто, якобы, их не организовывал.

 

 

Дата актуализации информации: 2019 год.

 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Если вы хотите дополнить или опровергнуть информацию, помещенную на данном сайте, присылайте имеющиеся у вас сведения по адресу mail@elitehistory.info

 

Для оказания финансовой помощи сайту можно перечислить средства на кошелек Яндексеньги 410019083426974