Go to home page

The history of the formation of the political and economic elite in the Sverdlovsk region

Commonwealth Trust Limited

Commonwealth Trust Limited is a major offshore company registrar in the British Virgin Islands (Caribbean).

The address: British Virgin Islands, Tortola, Road Town, Drake Chambers, P.O. 3321.

According to the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ), Commonwealth Trust Limited was incorporated in 1994 by Canadian entrepreneur Thomas J. Ward. The junior partner was Scott Wilson, a radio engineer who worked in the Caribbean. The company began to grow rapidly, establishing branches in the Bahamas, Belize and other countries. Commonwealth Trust Limited has shown particular interest in clients from Russia and Eastern Europe. Thomas Ward explained a large number of clients from the countries of the former Soviet bloc by the fact that Commonwealth Trust Limited was the only offshore registrar in the British Virgin Islands with Russian-speaking staff.

In 2006, regulators in the British Virgin Islands checked the activities of Commonwealth Trust Limited and found that the company was providing false and misleading reporting. According to company executives, a large number of clients made it impossible to verify the information received from them and track the purposes for which the registered offshore companies were used. Despite these challenges, the number of Commonwealth Trust Limited customers continued to grow.

Among the clients of Commonwealth Trust Limited from the Sverdlovsk Region, CJSC Russian Copper Company (Igor Alekseevich Altushkin) is the third largest copper producer in Russia.

In 2013, Commonwealth Trust Limited became widely known for the publication of the International Center for Investigative Journalism (the Russian partner of this center is Novaya Gazeta), which reported that Commonwealth Trust Limited registered many offshore companies that launder criminal capital around the world.

Commonwealth Trust Limited's clients reportedly included Dmitry Firtash, a billionaire from Ukraine, allegedly linked to Semyon Mogilevich, who is on the FBI's most wanted list. Firtash owned a stake in RosUkrEnergo, an intermediary that supplied Gazprom's gas to Ukraine. It was alleged that Commonwealth Trust Limited registered 31 companies in 2006 and 2007 for a man later named by a British court, a front man for Mukhtar Ablyazov, accused of withdrawing $ 5 billion from Kazakh BTA Bank.

Among the Russian clients of Commonwealth Trust Limited were mentioned Olga Shuvalova (wife of Deputy Prime Minister Igor Shuvalov), Valery Golubev (Deputy Chairman of the Board of Gazprom and a longtime acquaintance of Russian President Vladimir Putin), Andrey Reus (former CEO of Oboronprom).

Particular attention in the publication was paid to the "Magnitsky case". It was alleged that $ 230 million was stolen from the Russian budget through firms registered by Commonwealth Trust Limited. In 2008, Sergei Magnitsky (legal advisor to the Hermitage Capital investment fund, which was associated with these firms) was arrested on charges of tax evasion. In 2009, Magnitsky died in a pre-trial detention center. It was alleged that Magnitsky was killed in a pre-trial detention center so that he would not reveal the schemes by which Russian officials were stealing millions of dollars from the budget.

The authors of the ICIJ publication claimed that the founder of the Commonwealth Trust Limited, Thomas Ward, was aware of the criminal origin of the money that passed through the offshore companies registered by his company.

Given the significant number of Russian-speaking clients of Commonwealth Trust Limited, it makes sense to consider the likelihood of Russian roots in this company.

In January 1994, that is, in the same year when the Commonwealth Trust Limited was established, Commonwealth JSCC was registered in Moscow.

The founders of the company included:
- Leonid Alexandrovich Zapalsky;
- Boris Nikolaevich Temnikov;
- Gennady Dmitrievich Sitnikov;
- Anatoly Arsenievich Yanchenko;
- Vladimir Sergeevich Lukashin;
- Alexander Petrovich Smirnov.

The company was located in Moscow at the address: Petrovka st., 14. This building belonged to the Russian-Japanese University, in the creation of which the former First Deputy Chairman of the Council of Ministers of the RSFSR Oleg Ivanovich Lobov. took an active part. The Russian-Japanese University became notorious for its contacts with the Japanese sect Aum Shinrikyo, which in 1995 organized a terrorist attack on the Tokyo subway. In the 1990s, most of the organizations associated with Oleg Lobov were located or registered in this building.

Also among the founders of the Russian-Japanese University was the Deputy Chairman of the State Committee of the RSFSR for Economics Zapalsky Leonid Aleksandrovich. It was he who became one of the founders of Commonwealth JSCCO. From May to December 1993, Leonid Zapalsky was the Deputy Minister of Economy of the Russian Federation. He received this position with the support of Oleg Lobov, who was the Minister of Economy of the Russian Federation from April to September 1993. At the time of the creation of Commonwealth JSCCO (January 1994), Oleg Lobov was the secretary of the Security Council of the Russian Federation. Leonid Zapalsky, after resigning from the post of Deputy Minister of Economy of the Russian Federation, worked as Deputy General Director of JSC Vneshtorg, and was also President of the Fund for Economic and Humanitarian Relations with Ukraine.

Another founder of Commonwealth JSCCO with rich experience in public service was Temnikov Boris Nikolaevich. Until 1966, Boris Temnikov was building a party career in Kazakhstan. In 1966-1967 he worked in the Central Committee of the CPSU in Moscow. In 1968 Temnikov joined the diplomatic service: it is known that he would be an adviser to the USSR embassies in Italy and Bulgaria. From 1983 to 1992, Boris Temnikov headed the Main Directorate for Foreign Tourism under the Council of Ministers of the RSFSR. Considering the considerable age of Boris Temnikov (born in 1925), at the time of registration of Commonwealth JSCCO, he was probably already retired. On the other hand, his son, Vadim Borisovich Temnikov, built a successful diplomatic career, who at the end of the 2000s worked at the Russian Embassy in Cuba as an advisor-envoy (the second person in the hierarchy of the embassy). And according to data for 2011, he was the head of the Latin American department at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation. Obviously, the Caribbean sector is not alien to the Temnikov family, which may indicate a possible connection between Commonwealth JSCCO and Commonwealth Trust Limited, in addition to the similarity of the name and the coincidence of the time of registration of the companies.

Co-founder of Commonwealth JSCCO Sitnikov Gennady Dmitrievich did not have a glorious bureaucratic past and at the time of registration of Commonwealth JSCC he held a relatively modest position as deputy general director for production at PA “Podolskshveimash”. Subsequently, the shares of the founders were redistributed, and Gennady Sitnikov became the main shareholder of Commonwealth JSCCO. Gennady Sitnikov is of particular interest in connection with his work in Podolsk. A group of people who called themselves entrepreneurs were active in this city, but in the media and reports of law enforcement agencies they often appeared as members of the Podolsk organized criminal group. There is reason to believe that the members of this organized criminal group could be associated with the Commonwealth Trust Limited not only as clients.

Information was published on the Internet that the owner of 100% of the authorized capital of the company "Commonwealth Trust Limited" is Nikolai Anatolyevich Zhukov, who was in close contact with the first persons of the Podolsk organized criminal group, and also, presumably, was associated with the structures of the Chernoi brothers, Iskandar Makhmudov, and the international corporation Glencore which, in turn, were also closely associated with the Izmailovo-Podolsk authorities. Unfortunately, now information about Zhukov's ownership of the company "Commonwealth Trust Limited" cannot be found on the Internet and it is not possible to assess the reliability of the source of information.

It should be noted that in 2002 CJSCO Sodruzhestvo, already as CJSC Sodruzhestvo, was re-registered in Moscow at a new address: Deguninskaya st., 1, building 3. At the same address in 2001, LLC Information and Consulting Firm Leasing-Invest IK, owned by Nikolai Zhukov, was registered.

One of the colleagues of the founder of Commonwealth JSCCO, Leonid Zapalsky, wrote in his memoirs that Zapalsky's rapid career growth in Moscow began after he worked in Uzbekistan in the 1960s. The brothers Chernoi and Iskandar Makhmudov, with whom Nikolai Zhukov was allegedly associated, were natives of Uzbekistan and it was there that they began their commercial activities in the 1980s.

Let us recall that Uzbekistan was considered one of the most corrupt republics of the USSR. In the 1980s, the USSR prosecutor's office conducted a high-profile case of corruption in Uzbekistan, while investigators Telman Gdlyan and Nikolai Ivanov argued that corruption ties from Uzbekistan were drawn to the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union in Moscow. According to Nikolai Ivanov, the growth of nationalism in the republics of the USSR, which led to the collapse of the state, was largely stimulated by mafia bosses, who feared exposure and loss of power.

Only indirect evidence of the connection between Commonwealth Trust Limited and Commonwealth JSCCO was obtained, which is not enough for a confident statement about the connection between them. However, this evidence is sufficient to seriously consider the likelihood of such a relationship. Consequently, it is possible that Commonwealth Trust Limited is not just an offshore legal services business. Commonwealth Trust Limited may be one of the structures for the implementation of tacit control over Russian assets on the side of influential representatives of the Russian or international elite.

Date of information update: 2015.

Перейти на главную страницу

 

Commonwealth Trust Limited

 

Commonwealth Trust Limited – крупный регистратор оффшорных компаний на Британских Виргинских островах (Карибский бассейн).

В русскоязычных документах компания фигурирует под названиями Коммонвелс Траст Лимитед, Коммонвелф Траст Лимитед, Коммонуэлт Траст Лимитед, Коммонуэлс Траст Лимитед. «Commonwealth» переводится на русский язык как «Содружество».

 

Адрес: Британские Виргинские острова, остров Тортола, г.Роуд Таун (столица Британских Виргинских островов), Дрейк Чемберс, абонентский ящик 3321 (British Virgin Islands, Tortola, Road Town, Drake Chambers, P.O. 3321).

 

По информации Международного консорциума журналистов-расследователей (ICIJ) Commonwealth Trust Limited была зарегистрирована в 1994 году канадским предпринимателем Томасом Уордом (Thomas J. Ward). Младшим партнером стал радиоинженер Скотт Уилсон (Scott Wilson), работавший на Карибских островах. Компания начала быстро развиваться, учредив филиалы на Багамах, в Белизе и других странах. Особый интерес Commonwealth Trust Limited проявила к клиентам из России и Восточной Европы. Большое число клиентов из стран бывшего советского блока Томас Уорд объяснял тем, что Commonwealth Trust Limited была единственным регистратором оффшоров на Британских Виргинских островах, в штате которого был русскоговорящий персонал.

 

В 2006 году регуляторы Британских Виргинских островов проверили деятельность Commonwealth Trust Limited и установили, что компания предоставляла фальшивую и вводящую в заблуждение отчетность. По словам руководителей компании, большое число клиентов не давало возможности проверять поступавшую от них информацию и отслеживать, для каких целей использовались регистрируемые оффшорные компании. Несмотря на эти проблемы, количество клиентов Commonwealth Trust Limited продолжало расти.

Среди клиентов Commonwealth Trust Limited из Свердловской области можно отметить ЗАО «Русская медная компания» (Алтушкин Игорь Алексеевич) – третий по величине производитель меди в России.

 

В 2013 году Commonwealth Trust Limited получила широкую известность благодаря публикации Международного центра журналистских расследований (российским партнером этого центра является «Новая газета»), в котором сообщалось, что Commonwealth Trust Limited регистрировала множество оффшорных компаний, отмывающих криминальные капиталы по всему миру.

Сообщалось, что среди клиентов Commonwealth Trust Limited был Дмитрий Фирташ, миллиардер из Украины, предположительно, связанный с Семеном Могилевичем, входящим в список самых разыскиваемых преступников ФБР. Фирташ владел долей в RosUkrEnergo – посреднике, поставлявшем газ «Газпрома» на Украину. Утверждалось, что Commonwealth Trust Limited зарегистрировала в 2006 и 2007 годах 31 компанию для человека, позже названного британским судом, подставным лицом Мухтара Аблязова, обвиняющегося в выводе $5 млрд из казахского БТА Банка.

Среди российских клиентов Commonwealth Trust Limited упоминались Ольга Шувалова (жена вице-премьера Игоря Шувалова), Валерий Голубев (заместитель председателя правления «Газпрома» и давний знакомый президента РФ Владимира Путина), Андрей Реус (бывший генеральный директор компании «Оборонпром»).

Особое внимание в публикации уделялось «делу Магнитского». Так утверждалось, что через фирмы, зарегистрированные Commonwealth Trust Limited, было похищено $230 млн из российского бюджета. В 2008 году Сергей Магнитский (юрисконсульт инвестфонда Hermitage Capital, который был связан с этими фирмами) был арестован по обвинению в уклонении от уплаты налогов. В 2009 году Магнитский умер в СИЗО. Утверждалось, что Магнитского убили в СИЗО, чтобы он не раскрыл схемы, по которым российские чиновники похищали из бюджета миллионы долларов.

Авторы публикации ICIJ утверждали, что основатель Commonwealth Trust Limited Томас Уорд был в курсе криминального происхождения денег, которые проходили через зарегистрированные его компанией оффшорные фирмы.

 

Учитывая значительное число русскоговорящих клиентов Commonwealth Trust Limited, имеет смысл рассмотреть вероятность российских корней у этой компании.

 

В январе 1994 года, то есть в том же году, когда была создана Commonwealth Trust Limited, в Москве было зарегистрировано АОЗТ «Содружество». В качестве англоязычного названия компании было принято название JSCCO «Commonwealth».

В число учредителей компании вошли:

- Запальский Леонид Александрович;

- Темников Борис Николаевич;

- Ситников Геннадий Дмитриевич;

- Янченко Анатолий Арсеньевич;

- Лукашин Владимир Сергеевич;

- Смирнов Александр Петрович.

Компания располагалась в Москве по адресу: ул.Петровка, д.14. Это здание принадлежало Российско-японскому университету, в создании которого принял активное участие бывший первый заместитель председателя Совета министров РСФСР Лобов Олег Иванович. Печальную известность Российско-японский университет получил из-за контактов с японской сектой «АУМ Синрике», которая в 1995 году организовала теракт в токийском метро. В 1990-х годах большинство организаций, связанных с Олегом Лобовым, располагались или регистрировались в этом здании.

Также в число создателей Российско-японского университета входил заместитель председателя государственного комитета РСФСР по экономике Запальский Леонид Александрович. Именно он вошел в число учредителей АОЗТ «Содружество». С мая по декабрь 1993 года Леонид Запальский был заместителем министра экономики РФ. Эту должность он получил при поддержке Олега Лобова, который был министром экономики РФ с апреля по сентябрь 1993 года. На момент создания АОЗТ «Содружество» (январь 1994 года) Олег Лобов был секретарем Совета безопасности РФ. Леонид Запальский после отставки с поста заместителя министра экономики РФ работал заместителем генерального директора АО «Внешторг», а также являлся президентом Фонда экономических и гуманитарных связей с Украиной.

Еще одним учредителем АОЗТ «Содружество» с богатым опытом государственной службы был Темников Борис Николаевич. До 1966 года Борис Темников строил партийную карьеру в Казахстане. В 1966-1967 годах работал в ЦК КПСС в Москве. В 1968 году Темников перешел на дипломатическую службу: известно, что он бы советником посольства СССР в Италии и Болгарии. С 1983 по 1992 год Борис Темников возглавлял Главное управление по иностранному туризму при Совете министров РСФСР. Учитывая значительный возраст Бориса Темникова (1925 г.р.), во время регистрации АОЗТ «Содружество» он, вероятно, уже был на пенсии. Зато успешную дипломатическую карьеру строил его сын – Темников Вадим Борисович, который в конце 2000-х годов работал в посольстве РФ на Кубе советником-посланником (второе лицо в иерархии посольства). А по данным на 2011 год был начальником латиноамериканского департамента в Министерстве иностранных дел РФ. Очевидно, что сектор Карибского бассейна не чужд семейству Темниковых, что может указывать на возможную связь АОЗТ «Содружество» и Commonwealth Trust Limited помимо схожести названия и совпадения времени регистрации компаний.

Соучредитель АОЗТ «Содружество» Ситников Геннадий Дмитриевич не имел славного бюрократического прошлого и на момент регистрации АОЗТ «Содружество» занимал относительно скромную должность заместителя генерального директора по производству ПО «Подольскшвеймаш». Впоследствии доли учредителей перераспределились, и Геннадий Ситников стал основным акционером АОЗТ «Содружество». Особый интерес Геннадий Ситников вызывает в связи с его работой в Подольске. В этом городе активно действовала группа людей, которые называли себя предпринимателями, но в СМИ и сводках правоохранительных органов часто фигурировали в качестве членов Подольской ОПГ. Есть основания предполагать, что члены этой ОПГ могли быть связаны с Commonwealth Trust Limited не только в качестве клиентов.

 

В Интернете публиковалась информация, что владельцем 100% уставного капитала компании «Commonwealth Trust Limited» является Жуков Николай Анатольевич, который тесно контактировал с первыми лицами Подольской ОПГ, а также, предположительно, был связан со структурами братьев Черных, Искандара Махмудова, и международной корпорации «Glencore» которые в свою очередь также были тесно связаны с измайловско-подольскими авторитетами. К сожалению, сейчас информации о владении Жуковым компании «Commonwealth Trust Limited» найти в Интернете не удается и оценить надежность источника информации не представляется возможным.

Следует отметить, что в 2002 году АОЗТ «Содружество» уже как ЗАО «Содружество» было перерегистрировано в Москве по новому адресу: ул.Дегунинская, д.1, корп.3. По этому же адресу в 2001 году было зарегистрировано ООО «Информационно-консалтинговая фирма «Лизинг-Инвест ИК», принадлежавшая Николаю Жукову.

 

Один из коллег основателя АОЗТ «Содружество» Леонида Запальского в своих воспоминаниях писал о том, что быстрый карьерный рост Запальского в Москве начался после того, как он поработал в 1960-х годах в Узбекистане. Братья Черные и Искандар Махмудов, с которыми, предположительно, был связан Николай Жуков, были уроженцами Узбекистана и именно там начинали свою коммерческую деятельность в 1980-х годах.

Напомним, что Узбекистан считался одной из наиболее коррумпированных республик СССР. В 1980-х годах прокуратура СССР вела громкое дело о коррупции в Узбекистане, при этом следователи Тельман Гдлян и Николай Иванов утверждали, что коррупционные связи из Узбекистана тянутся в ЦК КПСС в Москве. По мнению Николая Иванова, рост национализма в республиках СССР, повлекший за собой распад государства, в значительной степени стимулировался мафиозными боссами, опасавшимися разоблачения и потери власти.

 

Были получены только косвенные свидетельства связи «Commonwealth Trust Limited» и АОЗТ «Содружество», что недостаточно для уверенного утверждения о связи между ними. Однако этих свидетельств достаточно для того, чтобы всерьез рассматривать вероятность такой связи. Следовательно, не исключена и возможность того, что «Commonwealth Trust Limited» - не просто бизнес по предоставлению юридических услуг в оффшорной зоне. «Commonwealth Trust Limited» может быть одной из структур по осуществлению негласного контроля за российскими активами о стороны влиятельных представителей российской или международной элиты.

 

 

Дата актуализации информации: 2015 год.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Если вы хотите дополнить или опровергнуть информацию, помещенную на данном сайте, присылайте имеющиеся у вас сведения по адресу mail@elitehistory.info