Go to home page

The history of the formation of the political and economic elite in the Sverdlovsk region

1985

In 1985, Boris Nikolayevich Yeltsin was the first secretary of the Sverdlovsk regional committee of the CPSU. In January 1985, the chairman of the regional executive committee, Anatoly Mekhrentsev, died. One of the closest associates of Boris Yeltsin, Oleg Ivanovich Lobov, was elected the new chairman of the regional executive committee, who until that moment was the second secretary of the regional committee of the CPSU.

The region built foreign economic relations mainly with friendly socialist countries: the GDR, Hungary, the Czech Republic. In addition, close economic ties have been established with Finland. Equipment, which had no analogues in the countries of the Soviet camp, was supplied from Germany, Italy and Switzerland. These were mainly automated production lines. Foreign electronics specialists were invited to install them.

Information technology has become increasingly important in the economy. In the International Center for Scientific and Technical Information (CMEA countries) a system of tele-access to databases was developed, which can be considered an attempt to create the Soviet Internet. In Sverdlovsk, a trial tele-access was carried out in January 1985 from the Institute of Mathematics and Mechanics of the Ural Scientific Center of the USSR Academy of Sciences. At the union level, it was decided to introduce a new subject "Fundamentals of Informatics and Computer Engineering" in secondary educational institutions.

On the one hand, in the Sverdlovsk region there was a relatively strong scientific school in the field of information technology - the Institute of Mathematics and Mechanics of the Ural Scientific Center of the USSR Academy of Sciences. The Sverdlovsk academician Nikolai Nikolaevich Krasovsky was considered a recognized all-Union authority in this area. His student Yuri Sergeevich Osipov later became the head of the Russian Academy of Sciences. On the other hand, the provision of the Sverdlovsk region with specialists in robotization of production significantly lagged behind the provision of, for example, the Leningrad region, which was comparable to the Sverdlovsk region in many economic parameters. In fact, there was no technical basis for teaching computer science in schools.

The KGB administration for the Sverdlovsk region was headed by Yuri Ivanovich Kornilov, who, before joining the KGB, was the first secretary of the Kirovsky district committee of the CPSU in Sverdlovsk. A significant part of the organizations that were responsible for informatization of the region were concentrated in the Kirovsky district of Sverdlovsk: the Ural Scientific Center of the USSR Academy of Sciences, the Ural Polytechnic Institute, the Uralsystem Research and Production Association.

In February 1985, elections were held to the Supreme Soviet of the RSFSR and local councils. Along with the political and economic elite, ordinary workers were elected as deputies of the regional council of people's deputies, which, apparently, was supposed to demonstrate the democratism of the Soviet system. Considering that the candidates for deputies were determined by the decision of the party organizations, and the lower party organizations were rigidly subordinated to the higher ones, "democracy" was only a semblance.

In March 1985, General Secretary of the CPSU Central Committee Konstantin Chernenko died. Instead, Mikhail Sergeevich Gorbachev was elected General Secretary of the CPSU Central Committee, whose candidacy was proposed by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the USSR A.A. Gromyko.

In April 1985, Boris Yeltsin was approved as the head of the construction department of the Central Committee of the CPSU, in connection with which he was relieved of his duties as first secretary of the Sverdlovsk Regional Committee of the CPSU and moved to Moscow for permanent residence. Instead, one of Yeltsin's associates,Yuri Vladimirovich Petrov, who had previously worked in Moscow in the Central Committee of the CPSU, was elected as the first secretary of the Sverdlovsk regional committee.

At the plenum of the Central Committee of the CPSU on April 23, Gorbachev made a report on the need for a radical restructuring of the country's economy on the basis of socialist principles of management, the unification of science and production. The Sverdlovsk Regional Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union in response came out with duty promises of fulfillment and overfulfillment of the production plan.

In May 1985, the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union adopted a resolution to reduce the production of vodka and alcoholic beverages since 1986 in order to combat drunkenness. The Sverdlovsk Regional Committee of the CPSU with renewed vigor reported on the successful fight against drunkenness in the region.

At a meeting of the CPSU Central Committee on June 11, 1985, Gorbachev made a report "The fundamental issue of the party's economic policy", where he stated that mechanical engineering plays a key role in the implementation of the scientific and technological revolution, and microelectronics, computer technology and instrument making, the entire informatics industry should be the catalyst for progress. The essence of perestroika was the increase in the efficiency of the centralized principle in management and planning, the expansion of the independence and responsibility of enterprises, the active use of more flexible forms and methods of management, cost accounting and commodity-money relations, the broad development of the initiative of the masses.

In July 1985, Boris Yeltsin was elected Secretary of the CPSU Central Committee. By the press, he begins to be mentioned along with the highest members of the party elite

In September 1985, the first secretary of the Leninsky district committee of the CPSU of Sverdlovsk V.V. Ilyushin was approved as an instructor of the Central Committee of the CPSU. Nikolai Ivanovich Ryzhkov, a native of the Sverdlovsk Region, was appointed Chairman of the Council of Ministers of the USSR.

The plenum of the Central Committee of the CPSU on October 15, 1985 discussed and submitted for national consideration a new version of the Program and Charter of the CPSU. It was proposed to expand transparency, strengthen control from below, deepen democratic principles in the activities of all state and public organizations. In November, the new Charter of the CPSU was published. It confirmed the leading role of party organizations in relation to the councils of people's deputies, as well as the unconditional subordination of lower party organizations to higher ones. But at the same time, the younger ones were asked to criticize their older comrades. Thus, behind the loud statements, only the semblance of democracy was again offered.

In October 1985, the bureau of the Sverdlovsk Regional Committee of the CPSU noted that, following the results of 9 months, the plans and socialist commitments of 1985 were in danger of being disrupted. However, at the end of the year, the region nevertheless reported on the implementation of the annual plan for the sale of goods and the production of most of the most important types of products. A decline in production was outlined not only in the Sverdlovsk region, but also in the USSR as a whole. Different authors give different explanations for the reasons for this. The authors of this site are of the opinion that the reason for the economic problems of the 1980s was that the USSR was unable to join the global scientific and technological revolution of the 1970s, which was based on the use of new information technologies based on computers. The reason for this was, firstly, the dominance of the command-administrative system, which held back the creative initiative of the intelligentsia, which became the fundamental class of the new economic order. And the second reason was the isolation of the USSR from the process of technological exchange with the leading Western countries. Moreover, this isolation was probably not due to differences in the political and economic system (communism versus capitalism), since these differences did not prevent technological donation from the West during the formation of Soviet Russia in the 1920s and 1930s. Alternatively, the foreign policy isolation of the USSR by economically developed Western countries and the subsequent catastrophic technological backwardness could be due to the weakening of Jewish influence on the formation of the political and economic elite of the USSR after World War II. This issue is covered in more detail in the Background section.

In the north of the Sverdlovsk region there was a network of correctional labor institutions. The prisoners released from them often remained to live in the Sverdlovsk region, as a result of which the country's criminal elite received a strong representation in the region. According to the researchers of the criminal world, in 1985 in the prisons of the Sverdlovsk region there was an increased concentration of "thieves in law", who at that time constituted the top of the criminal pyramid.

The authorities preferred not to mention the existence of organized crime in the country, but sometimes they reported on the fight against it. So, for example, in 1985, ac-cording to the Department of Internal Affairs of the regional executive committee, the BHSS department of the Sverdloblispolkom exposed a group of criminals, from which emeralds, precious metals and jewelry were confiscated in the amount of 1 million 260 thousand rubles.

For some reason, the regional press paid increased attention to the Italian mafia. Based on the printed publications of the time, it seemed that no other organized crime in the world simply existed.

Перейти на главную страницу

История формирования политико-экономической элиты Свердловской области

1985 год

 

 

В 1985 году первым секретарем Свердловского обкома КПСС являлся Борис Николаевич Ельцин. В январе 1985 года умер председатель облисполкома Анатолий Мехренцев. Новым председателем облисполкома был избран один из ближайших соратников Бориса Ельцина Олег Иванович Лобов, который до этого момента был вторым секретарем обкома КПСС.

 

Внешнеэкономические связи регион выстраивал главным образом с дружественными социалистическими странами: ГДР, Венгрия, Чехия. Кроме этого, тесные экономические связи были налажены с Финляндией. Оборудование, аналогов которому не было в странах совлагеря, поставлялось из ФРГ, Италии и Швейцарии. Главным образом, это были автоматизированные производственные линии. Для их монтажа приглашались иностранные специалисты по электронике.

 

Информационные технологии приобретали все большее значение в экономике. В Международном центре научной и технической информации (стран СЭВ) разрабатывалась система теледоступа к базам данных, что можно считать попыткой создания советского Интернета. В Свердловске пробный теледоступ в январе 1985 года был осуществлен из Института математики и механики Уральского научного центра АН СССР. На союзном уровне было принято решение о введении в средних общеобразовательных учреждениях нового предмета «Основы информатики и вычислительной техники».

С одной стороны, в Свердловской области присутствовала сравнительно сильная научная школа в области информационных технологий – Институт математики и механики Уральского научного центра АН СССР. Признанным всесоюзным авторитетом в этой области считался свердловский академик Николай Николаевич Красовский. Его ученик Юрий Сергеевич Осипов позже возглавил Российскую академию наук. С другой стороны, обеспеченность Свердловской области специалистами по роботизации производства значительно отставала от обеспеченности, к примеру, Ленинградской области, которая была сопоставима со Свердловской областью по многим экономическим параметрам. Техническая база для преподавания информатики в школах, фактически, отсутствовала.

Управление КГБ по Свердловской области возглавлял Юрий Иванович Корнилов, который до работы в КГБ был первым секретарем Кировского райкома КПСС в Свердловске. В Кировском районе Свердловска была сосредоточена значительная часть организаций, которые отвечали за информатизацию региона: Уральский научный центр АН СССР, Уральский политехнический институт, научно-производственное объединение «Уралсистем».

 

В феврале 1985 года прошли выборы депутатов Верховного Совета РСФСР и местных советов. Наряду с политико-экономической элитой депутатами областного совета народных депутатов были избраны рядовые труженики, что, видимо, должно было продемонстрировать демократизм советского строя. Учитывая то, что кандидаты в депутаты определялись решением партийных организаций, а нижестоящие парторганизации были жестко подчинены вышестоящим, «демократизм» был лишь видимостью.

 

В марте 1985 года умер генеральный секретарь ЦК КПСС Константин Черненко. Вместо него генсеком ЦК КПСС был избран Михаил Сергеевич Горбачев, кандидатура которого была предложена министром иностранных дел СССР А.А.Громыко.

 

В апреле 1985 года Борис Ельцин был утвержден заведующим отделом строительства ЦК КПСС, в связи с чем, был освобожден от обязанностей первого секретаря Свердловского обкома КПСС и переехал на постоянное место жительства в Москву. Вместо него первым секретарем Свердловского обкома был избран один из соратников Ельцина Юрий Владимирович Петров, который до этого работал в Москве в ЦК КПСС.

 

На Пленуме ЦК КПСС 23 апреля Горбачев выступил с докладом о необходимости коренной перестройки экономики страны на основе социалистических принципов хозяйствования, объединении науки и производства. Свердловский обком КПСС в ответ выступил с дежурными обещаниями выполнения и перевыполнения плана производства.

 

В мае 1985 года ЦК КПСС принял постановление о сокращении с 1986 года объемов производства водки и ликероводочных изделий в целях борьбы с пьянством. Свердловский обком КПСС с удвоенной энергией рапортовал об успешной борьбе с пьянством в регионе.

 

На совещании ЦК КПСС 11 июня 1985 года Горбачев выступил с докладом «Коренной вопрос экономической политики партии», где заявил, что в осуществлении научно-технической революции ключевая роль принадлежит машиностроению, а катализатором прогресса должна быть микроэлектроника, вычислительная техника и приборостроение, вся индустрия информатики. Сутью перестройки было названо повышение эффективности централизованного начала в управлении и планировании, расширение самостоятельности и ответственности предприятий, активное использование более гибких форм и методов руководства, хозрасчета и товарно-денежных отношений, широкое развитие инициативы масс.

 

В июле 1985 года Б.Н.Ельцин избран секретарем ЦК КПСС. Органами печати он начинает упоминаться наряду с высшими членами партийной элиты.

 

В сентябре 1985 года первый секретарь Ленинского райкома КПСС Свердловска В.В.Илюшин утвержден инструктором ЦК КПСС. Председателем Совета министров СССР назначен выходец из Свердловской области Николай Иванович Рыжков.

 

Пленум ЦК КПСС 15 октября 1985 года обсудил и вынес на всенародное рассмотрение новую редакцию Программы и Устава КПСС. Предлагалось расширение гласности, усиление контроля снизу, углубление демократических начал в деятельности всех государственных и общественных организаций. В ноябре был опубликован новый Устав КПСС. В нем подтверждалась руководящая роль парторганизаций по отношению к советам народных депутатов, а также безусловное подчинение нижестоящих парторганизаций вышестоящим. Но при этом младшим было предложено критиковать старших товарищей. Таким образом, за громкими заявлениями опять предлагалась только видимость демократии.

           

В октябре 1985 года бюро Свердловского обкома КПСС отметило, что по итогам 9 месяцев планы и социалистические обязательства 1985 года находятся под угрозой срыва. Однако по итогам года область все-таки отчиталась о выполнении годового плана реализации товаров и производства большинства важнейших видов изделий. Спад производства наметился не только в Свердловской области, но и в СССР в целом. Разными авторами приводятся различные объяснения причин этого. Авторы данного сайта придерживаются мнения, что причиной экономических проблем 1980-х годов было то, что СССР не смог включиться в мировую научно-технологическую революцию 1970-х годов, основой которой стало применение новых информационных технологий на основе ЭВМ. Причиной этого было, во-первых, доминирование командно-административной системы, которая сдерживала творческую инициативу интеллигенции, ставшей основополагающим классом нового экономического уклада. А второй причиной была изоляция СССР из процесса технологического обмена с ведущими западными странами. Причем, эта изоляция обусловливалась, вероятно, не различиями политико-экономического строя (коммунизм против капитализма), поскольку эти различия не помешали технологическому донорству со стороны Запада в ходе становления Советской России в 1920-х и 1930-х годах. Как вариант, внешнеполитическая изоляция СССР экономически развитыми западными странами и последовавшая за этим катастрофическая технологическая отсталость могла быть обусловлена ослаблением еврейского влияния на формирование политико-экономической элиты СССР после Второй мировой войны. Более подробно этот вопрос освещен в разделе Предыстория.

 

На севере Свердловской области располагалась сеть исправительно-трудовых учреждений. Освобождавшиеся из них заключенные часто оставались жить в Свердловской области, в результате чего в области получила сильное представительство криминальная элита страны. По данным исследователей криминального мира, в 1985 году в местах заключения Свердловской области отмечалась повышенная концентрация «воров в законе», составлявших в то время вершину криминальной пирамиды.

Органы власти предпочитали не упоминать о существовании в стране организованной преступности, однако иногда отчитывались о борьбе с ней. Так, например, в 1985 году по данным УВД облисполкома управление БХСС Свердлоблисполкома разоблачило группу преступников, у которой изъято изумрудов, драгоценных металлов и ювелирных изделий на сумму 1 млн 260 тыс. рублей.

Повышенное внимание областные органы печати уделяли почему-то итальянской мафии. Если основываться на печатных публикациях того времени, возникало впечатление, что никакой другой организованной преступности в мире просто не существует.

 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Если вы хотите дополнить или опровергнуть информацию, помещенную на данном сайте, присылайте имеющиеся у вас сведения по адресу mail@elitehistory.info