Go to home page

The history of the formation of the political and economic elite in the Sverdlovsk region

EAM Group, Evrazholding, Evraz-group

In 1992, Alexander Abramov and fellow students at the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology in Moscow founded Euroazmetall LLP (European-Asian metals). Information was published that Abramov worked in the company of the Chernoi brothers "Trans World Group", which in the first half of the 90s controlled a significant part of the Russian metallurgy.

In 1995, on the basis of Euroazmetall LLP, EAM Group of Enterprises CJSC was formed, which at the end of 1995 signed a strategic partnership agreement with the Italian-Swiss company Duferco, becoming the owner of a controlling stake in Nizhny Tagil Metallurgical Plant. According to Alexander Abramov, his company gained control over NTMK by accumulating debts from the metallurgical plant to coal sellers and exchanging them for NTMK shares. In the same 1995, Evrazholding LLC was established, which became the management company of the enterprises belonging to the EAM group.

The press wrote that Abramov had agreed with the general director of NTMK, Yuri Komratov, that EAM Group would receive a 10% stake in the plant, in exchange for which Komratov would head a new coal and metallurgical holding. However, Abramov subsequently took control of the plant's financial flows and product export issues, removing Vyacheslav Kushchev, who represented the interests of the FAPSI management at NTMK, from these most important levers of management of the plant, and with the support of Governor Eduard Rossel dismissed Komratov (in 1998) from the post of NTMK CEO.

Metal supplies by Evrazholding from NTMK were carried out through Ferrox CJSC. One of the main consumers of NTMK metal was the structures of the Russian railways, which at that time were under the control of the Ministry of Railways of the Russian Federation. This led to close ties between Evrazholding and the Ministry of Railways. Alexander Abramov joined the board of directors of JSCB Transcreditbank, controlled by the leadership of the Ministry of Railways (Nikolai Aksenenko). The structures of the Ministry of Railways and Evrazholding jointly established companies through which supplies of metal from NTMK were made.

Information was published that in the mid-1990s, Moscow businessman Oleg Boyko (15-20% of shares) was the co-owner of the EAM group (15-20% of shares), who provided Alexander Abramov with not only money, but also political connections. Until 1995, Boyko headed the executive committee of the Democratic Choice of Russia party, and in 1994-1996 he sat on the board of directors of Public Russian Television AOZT. Information was published that Boyko is a member of Boris Berezovsky's team, and suggestions were made that Alexander Abramov could also be a member of this team.

At the end of the 1990s, Vasily Rudenko became the vice-president of Evrazholding, who before that was the deputy head of the GUBOP of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Russian Federation, and even earlier headed the UBOP in the Sverdlovsk region. During this period, Evrazholding fought for control over NTMK with other large FIGs with the active participation of law enforcement agencies and criminal structures. According to Alexander Khinshtein, the power support to Evrazholding was provided by the assistant to the Minister of Internal Affairs of Russia Alexander Orlov, who was in partnership with Boris Berezovsky. As a result, Evrazholding emerged victorious from this confrontation, and the security service of NTMK was headed by the former senior officials of the Organized Crime Control Department in the Sverdlovsk Region.

In the course of corporate wars in the late 1990s, there was a conflict between entrepreneurs who were in the inner circle of the Chernoi brothers. One of these entrepreneurs (Jalol Khaidarov) accused the Chernoi brothers of being connected with the Izmaylovo criminal group and claimed that Evrazholding and the Ural Mining and Metallurgical Company were engaged in laundering criminal money from the Izmaylovo organized criminal group. Later in the 2000s, information was published on the Internet that Alexander Abramov was in the past a top manager of the Chernoi brothers' Trans World Group.

In 2000, Evrazholding bought the West Siberian Metallurgical Plant (Kemerovo Region), displacing the structures of the Alpha Group, with the support of the Governor of the Kemerovo Region Aman Tuleyev. Also in the early 2000s, the Kuznetsk Metallurgical Plant (Kemerovo Region) came under the control of Evrazholding. As a result, Evrazholding controls about 40% of the Russian ferrous metallurgy. It is reported that under the control of Evrazholding are the coal mines of Raspadskaya and Polosukhinskaya, as well as the Nakhodka commercial sea port.

In 2002 Duferco Duferco sold its shares in NTMK (11%) to Evrazholding. As a result, Evrazholding became the owner of 57% of NTMK shares.

In 2003, in preparation for the Eurobond issue, Evrazholding partially disclosed its ownership structure to investors. The Cypriot company Crosland Ltd. was named the owner of the holding. Crosland's beneficiaries were not named in the prospectus.

In 2004, it was reported that Alexander Abramov bought out Oleg Boyko's share in the company.

In the same year, the company bought out the Kachkanarsky GOK, which supplies NTMK with iron ore, from the structures of Iskandar Makhmudov.

In early June 2005, the first public sale of shares (IPO) of Evraz-group on the London Stock Exchange took place. The company's capitalization was $ 5.1 billion. It was reported that the owner of the enterprises controlled by Evrazholding is the Luxembourg-based company Evraz Group S.A., 91.7% of which is owned by Crosland Global. The main beneficiary of Crosland Global is Alexander Abramov, who through this company controls 59.11% of the shares of Evraz Group S.A. Alexander Frolov (partner of Alexander Abramov) controls 28.2% of the shares of Evraz Group S.A.

In June 2006, entrepreneur Roman Abramovich became a partner of Abramov and Frolov: through a network of offshore companies, he acquired 40% of the Evraz Group shares from businessmen. The shares were transferred to Lanebrook, which became the owner of 82.67% of Evraz Group shares. At the same time, 50% of Lanebrook was transferred to Greenleas International Holdings Limited, the ultimate beneficiary of which is Abramovich's management company Millhouse.

In August 2008, information was published on the distribution of the company's shares among the main beneficiaries (Roman Abramovich's Millhouse Capital was named the owner of 36.44%; Abramov - 24.29%, Frolov - 12.15%, Ukrainian businessman Igor Kolomoisky - 9.72% of Evras shares Group).

In October 2008, at the elections for the mayor of Nizhny Tagil, the NTMK management supported Valentina Isaeva, despite her membership in United Russia, which competed with the official candidate from this party, Alexei Chekanov, who was supported by Governor Eduard Rossel. Isaeva won the elections, and the scandalous situation with the loss of the official candidate from the ruling party became the reason for the resignation from the post of the head of the Sverdlovsk branch of United Russia, Alexei Vorobyov, who was also the chairman of the regional government and was a confidant of Eduard Rossel.

As of December 2008, Evras Group included not only NTMK, ZSMK and KMK, but also plants in Italy (Palini e Bertoli), Czech Republic (Vitkovice Steel) and Ukraine (Dnepropetrovsk Petrovsky Metallurgical Plant, as well as three coke-chemical enterprises - Dneprodzerzhinsk coke plant, "Bagleikoks" and "Dneprokoks"). It was emphasized that the company's North American division Evraz Inc. NA had merged by that time the metallurgical assets of Evras Group: Oregon Steel Mills, Claymont Steel and Canadian IPSCO enterprises for the production of sheet and pipe products. In addition, Evras Group was called “a major player in the global vanadium market,” with assets including Highveld Steel and Vanadium Corporation, an integrated steel and vanadium company in South Africa, and Strategic Minerals Corporation and Nikom in the Czech Republic. The mining division of the Evraz Group, as of the beginning of 2009, united the mining enterprises of Evrazruda, Kachkanarsky and Vysokogorsky GOKs in Russia (Sverdlovsk region) and the Ukrainian mining and processing plant Sukha Balka. The website of the holding noted that Evraz Group also owned the Yuzhkuzbassugol company, 40% of the shares of Raspadskaya and 10% of the shares of the Chinese metallurgical company Delong (in 2008, Evraz Group signed an agreement to purchase up to 51% of the company's shares).

Having completed the re-registration of the company in the UK at the end of 2011, the owners announced the distribution of shares in Evraz plc:
- Roman Abramovich - 34,68%;
- Alexander Abramov - 24,64%;
- Alexander Frolov - 12,32%;
- Igor Kolomoisky - 4,48%;
- Evgeny Shvidler (Abramovich's partner) - 3,5%.

In 2012, the activities of the mayor of Nizhny Tagil, Valentina Isaeva, are harshly criticized, her connection with the leadership of NTMK is emphasized. It is alleged that Uralvagonzavod is NTMK's rival for power in Nizhny Tagil. In the fall of 2012, the former general director of NTMK Sergey Nosov, who in recent years worked in the structures of the state corporation "Russian Technologies", which controls Uralvagonzavod, wins the elections for the mayor of Nizhny Tagil. Thus, Sergei Nosov became a compromise figure for NTMK and Uralvagonzavod.

According to the Vedomosti newspaper in January 2017, Evraz shares were distributed as follows:
- Roman Abramovich - 31,03%;
- Alexander Abramov - 21,38%;
- Alexander Frolov - 10,68%;
- Gennady Kozovoy - 5,9%;
- Alexander Vagin – 5,84%;
- Evgeny Shvidler (Abramovich's partner) - 3,09%.

Date of information update: 2017.

Перейти на главную страницу

 

Группа ЕАМ, Евразхолдинг, Евраз-груп

 

 

В 1992 году Александром Абрамовым с сокурсниками по московскому физико-техническому институту в Москве было основано ТОО «Евроазметалл» (европейско-азиатские металлы). Публиковалась информация, что Абрамов работал  в компании братьев Черных «Trans World Group», которые в первой половине 90-х годов контролировали значительную часть российской металлургии.

В 1995 году на основе ТОО «Евроазметалл» было образовано АОЗТ «Группа предприятий ЕАМ», которое в конце 1995 года подписало соглашение о стратегическом партнерстве с итало-швейцарской компанией Duferco, став владельцем контрольного пакета акций Нижнетагильского металлургического комбината. По словам Александра Абрамова, его компания получила контроль над НТМК, накопив долги, образовавшиеся у меткомбината перед продавцами угля и обменяв их на акции НТМК. В этом же 1995 году было создано ООО «Евразхолдинг», которое стало управляющей компанией предприятий, входящих в группу ЕАМ.

Пресса писала, что Абрамов договорился с генеральным директором НТМК Юрием Комратовым о том, что «Группа ЕАМ» получит 10% акций комбината, в обмен на что Комратов возглавит новый угольно-металлургический холдинг. Однако впоследствии Абрамов взял под контроль финансовые потоки комбината и вопросы экспорта продукции, отстранив от этих важнейших рычагов управления комбинатом Вячеслава Кущева, представлявшего на НТМК интересы руководства ФАПСИ, и при поддержке губернатора Эдуарда Росселя отстранил Комратова (в 1998 году) с поста генерального директора НТМК.

Поставки металла Евразхолдингом с НТМК осуществлялись через АОЗТ «Феррокс». Одним из основных потребителей металла НТМК были структуры российских железных дорог, которые в тот момент находились под управлением министерства путей сообщения РФ. Это обусловило тесные связи Евразхолдинга с МПС. Александр Абрамов вошел в совет директоров ОАО АКБ «Транскредитбанк», подконтрольного руководству МПС (Николай Аксененко). Структуры МПС и Евразхолдинга совместно учреждали фирмы, через которые производились поставки металла с НТМК.

Публиковалась информация, что в середине 1990-х годов совладельцем группы ЕАМ являлся московский бизнесмен Олег Бойко (15-20% акций), который предоставил Александру Абрамову не только деньги, но и политические связи. До 1995 года Бойко возглавлял исполком партии «Демократический выбор России», а в 1994-1996 годах заседал в совете директоров АОЗТ «Общественное российское телевидение». Публиковалась информация, что Бойко является членом команды Бориса Березовского, и высказывались предположения, что Александр Абрамов также может быть членом этой команды.

В конце 1990-х годов вице-президентом Евразхолдинга стал Василий Руденко, который до этого был заместителем начальника ГУБОП МВД РФ, а еще раньше руководил УБОП по Свердловской области. В этот период Евразхолдинг воевал за контроль над НТМК с другими крупными ФПГ при активном участии правоохранительных органов и криминальных структур. По данным Александра Хинштейна, силовую поддержку Евразхолдингу оказывал помощник министра внутренних дел России Александр Орлов, который находился в партнерских отношениях с Борисом Березовским. В итоге Евразхолдинг вышел победителем из этого противостояния, а службу безопасности НТМК возглавили бывшие руководящие сотрудники  УБОП по Свердловской области.

В ходе корпоративных войн в конце 1990-х годов произошел конфликт между предпринимателями, входящими в ближайшее окружение братьев Черных. Один из этих предпринимателей (Джалол Хайдаров) обвинил братьев Черных в связи с измайловской преступной группировкой и утверждал, что «Евразхолдинг» и «Уральская горно-металлургическая компания» занимаются отмыванием криминальных денег измайловской ОПГ. Позже в 2000-х годах в сети Интернет публиковалась информация, что Александр Абрамов в прошлом был топ-менеджером компании братьев Черных «Trans World Group».

В 2000 году Евразхолдинг купил Западно-Сибирский металлургический комбинат (Кемеровская область), вытеснив структуры Альфа-групп, при поддержке губернатора Кемеровской области Амана Тулеева. Также в начале 2000-х годов под контроль Евразхолдинга перешел Кузнецкий металлургический комбинат (Кемеровская область). В результате, Евразхолдинг контролирует около 40% российской черной металлургии. Сообщается, что под контролем Евразхолдинга находятся угольные шахты Распадская и Полосухинская, а также Находкинский морской торговый порт.

В 2002 году Duferco продала свои акции НТМК (11%) «Евразхолдингу». В результате, «Евразхолдинг» стал владельцем 57% акций НТМК.

В 2003 году, в период подготовки к выпуску еврооблигаций, Евразхолдинг частично раскрыл инвесторам структуру собственности. Собственником холдинга была названа кипрская компания Crosland Ltd. Бенефициарии Crosland в проспекте эмиссии не назывались.

В 2004 году сообщалось, что Александр Абрамов выкупил долю Олега Бойко в компании.

В этом же году компания выкупила Качканарский ГОК, снабжающий железорудным сырьем НТМК, у структур Искандара Махмудова.

В начале июня 2005 года состоялась первая публичная продажа акций (IPO) Евраз-груп на Лондонской фондовой бирже. Капитализация компании составила 5,1 миллиарда долларов. Сообщалось, что владельцем предприятий, подконтрольных Евразхолдингу, является люксембургская компания Evraz Group S.A., 91,7% акций которой владеет компания Crosland Global. Основным бенефициаром Crosland Global является Александр Абрамов, который через эту компанию контролирует 59,11% акций Evraz Group S.A. Александр Фролов (партнер Александра Абрамова) контролирует 28,2% акций Evraz Group S.A.

В июне 2006 года партнером Абрамова и Фролова стал предприниматель Роман Абрамович: через сеть оффшоров он приобрел у бизнесменов 40% акций Evraz Group. Бумаги были переданы компании Lanebrook, которая стала владельцем 82,67% акций Evraz Group. При этом 50% Lanebrook передавалось компании Greenleas International Holdings Limited, конечным бенефициаром которой является управляющая компания Абрамовича Millhouse.

В августе 2008 года публиковалась информация о распределении акций компании между основными бенефициарами (Millhouse Capital Романа Абрамовича называлась владелицей 36,44%; Абрамов - 24,29%, Фролов - 12,15%, украинский бизнесмен Игорь Коломойский - 9,72% акций Evras Group).

В октябре 2008 года на выборах мэра Нижнего Тагила руководство НТМК поддержало Валентину Исаеву, несмотря на членство в «Единой России», составившей конкуренцию официальному кандидату от этой партии Алексею Чеканову, которого поддерживал губернатор Эдуард Россель. Исаева победила на выборах, а скандальная ситуация с проигрышем официального кандидата от партии власти стала поводом для отставки с поста главы Свердловского отделения «Единой России» Алексея Воробьева, который одновременно был председателем правительства области и являлся доверенным лицом Эдуарда Росселя.

По данным на декабрь 2008 года, в состав Evras Group входили не только НТМК, ЗСМК и КМК, но и заводы в Италии (Palini e Bertoli), Чехии (Vitkovice Steel) и Украине (Днепропетровский металлургический завод им. Петровского, также три коксохимических предприятия - Днепродзержинский коксохимический завод, "Баглейкокс" и "Днепрококс"). Подчеркивалось, что подразделение компании в Северной Америке Evraz Inc. NA объединило к тому времени металлургические активы Evras Group: Oregon Steel Mills, Claymont Steel и канадские предприятия IPSCO по производству листового и трубного проката. Кроме того, Evras Group называли «крупным игроком на мировом рынке ванадия» - в число его активов входили Highveld Steel and Vanadium Corporation - интегрированная компания по производству стали и ванадия в Южной Африке, а также компании Strategic Minerals Corporation и Nikom в Чехии. Горнодобывающее же подразделение Evraz Group, по данным на начало 2009 года, объединяло горнорудные предприятия ОАО «Евразруда», Качканарский и Высокогорский ГОКи в России (Свердловская область) и украинский горно-обогатительный комбинат «Сухая балка». На сайте холдинга отмечалось, что Evraz Group также принадлежала компания «Южкузбассуголь», 40% акций ОАО «Распадская» и 10% акций китайской металлургической компании Delong (в 2008 году Evraz Group подписала договор на покупку до 51% акций компании).

Завершив перерегистрацию компании в Великобритании в конце 2011 года собственники озвучили распределение акций компании Evraz plc:

- Роман Абрамович - 34,68%;

- Александр Абрамов - 24,64%;

- Александр Фролов - 12,32%;

- Игорь Коломойский - 4,48%;

- Евгений Швидлер (партнер Абрамовича) - 3,5%.

В 2012 году деятельность мэра Нижнего Тагила Валентины Исаевой подвергается жесткой критике, подчеркивается ее связь с руководством НТМК. Утверждается, что конкурентом НТМК за власть в Нижнем Тагиле выступает Уралвагонзавод. Осенью 2012 года на выборах мэра Нижнего Тагила побеждает бывший генеральный директор НТМК Сергей Носов, который последние годы работал в структурах госкорпорации «Ростехнологии», которая контролирует Уралвагонзавод. Таким образом, Сергей Носов стал компромиссной фигурой для НТМК и Уралвагонзавода.

 

 

Дата актуацизации информации: 2013 год.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Если вы хотите дополнить или опровергнуть информацию, помещенную на данном сайте, присылайте имеющиеся у вас сведения по адресу mail@elitehistory.info